Gnarled Bark Hat

I am not sure if anyone remembers this?

YarnAt the time I was unable to share the project that this was destined for, but now I can πŸ™‚

20130920-IMG_3348.jpg

Photo courtesy of Kat Goldin

This is it: The Gnarled Bark Hat from the latest issue of The Crochet Project. The designer, Joanne Scarce had asked me to have a go. I am not really sure why as her patterns tend to be written beautifully but I was more than happy to oblige.

It was a new stitch pattern for me that involved working around the stitch below which is not something I had done before. The pattern was easy to follow and I really enjoyed making it. It was fairly quick and therefore very satisfying to make. I found that, once you got going it was one of those projects that is perfect for the evenings when you are tired and need something to help you de-stress.

This is the pre-blocked hat.

This is the pre-blocked hat.

I am very ashamed to admit that I have not yet got around to properly cast off or block despite finishing a couple a weeks ago. Now the weather has changed I feel that this may become a bit more of a priority!

To help give you an idea of the finished hat I put it over a bowl. This is the view from the top!

To help give you an idea of the finished hat I put it over a bowl. This is the view from the top!

Doesn't it really open the pattern out? I really, really like this pattern.

Doesn’t it really open the pattern out? I really, really like this pattern.

This is the wrong side of the hat. I think it is lovely in its own way - almost a reversible pattern.

This is the wrong side of the hat. I think it is lovely in its own way – almost a reversible pattern.

Now I am not really a hat person but I would recommend this hat – I may even wear it!! The pattern is a bargain at Β£3. In addition, yesterday I went to a hat clinic with Wooly Wormhead who is the master of hats, at The Sheep Shop (my LYS.) It was really fab and I may well have bought another hat pattern so watch this space πŸ˜‰

Do pop over to Handmade Harbour to catch up with all the other wonderful crafty events of this past week.Β  Hope you have a really great week. x

 

51 thoughts on “Gnarled Bark Hat

  1. Gertie

    What a great hat. I love the texture and colour of it. Plus an added bonus that the pattern looks good on the reverse.
    I too find knitting and crocheting very therapeutic when I’ve had a bad day. Even better when it’s joined with a large glass of wine and some chocolate πŸ™‚ xx

    Reply
  2. fiddlyfingers

    This looks like a very interesting stitch pattern and I like the finished hat but unfortunately hats don’t like me! I look awful in them πŸ˜€

    Reply
  3. PatchworkfairyPatchwork Fairy

    Love that hat – prettier than the basic beanie – I may have to step up my crochet learning. I have settled into a nice de-stressing evening crochet habit too – and as Gertie says – wine and chocolate would be a great addition πŸ™‚

    Reply
  4. Ali

    The pattern looks great and a lovely colour choice. I was very impressed with your son’s polar bear. I think he’s amazing.
    Ali x

    Reply
  5. Divine Debris

    Oh, the texture! As I read the blog and looked at the pictures I was blown away by the movement of the stitches and how beautiful the hat is. Gorgeous pattern and a great color. Well done! πŸ™‚

    Reply
  6. Jodiebodie

    THat is a beautiful hat. Lovely work. It was interesting to see the reverse side. Thank you for sharing that. I disagree that hats don’t like some people. It is a matter of finding a hat with the right shape, colour and attitude to suit you. There are so many styles out there, it’s just a matter of time before the right one comes along.

    Reply

I love to hear your thoughts and views.

