Park Run

Saturday mornings at this time of year are spent standing in a field whilst the youngsters play football. This week however there was no match for my eldest. Having recently been chosen to participate in an inter-school cross country I thought that it was probably time for us to run our first park run together.

I have run one, once before. Saturday mornings are not the best time in our house but I love the idea of them. I love that they are free and that they are open to all runners of all ages and abilities. Miloton park

Our local park run takes place in a country park which is based around old brick pits or quarries. It is not a huge park so the 5k run is completed over 3 loops. The scenery is lovely should you have the energy to look and enjoy it, especially this last weekend as the trees are in their last throws of autumnal beauty.

My son is quite nervous in new situations and despite having shown him where we would finish he was not that keen to go off on his own. He was bound to be faster than me!

Milton park run

As it was his first ‘event’ we started at the back to give him time to get used to it without being felt as if he was being too pressurized. True to form however, once we had done about half a mile he sprinted off into the distance leaving me plodding along in my own time. I didn’t see him again despite his bright orange top!

Yes he beat me, by over 2 minutes in the end. I was not surprised and was actually pleased with my own performance being run at an average of 8.50.

I am not sure if I am going to repeat the exercise again – I fear that he may beat me more comprehensively the next time!

 

 

13 thoughts on “Park Run

I love to hear your thoughts and views.

