Flexibility is key!

How is the training going?

That is the question that I get asked a lot when out and about. My first instinct is to say that it is far too early to be really training as the VLM is still 5 months away. However, the truth is that I have upped my training somewhat. In addition, I am feeling quite pleased with how it is going.

Businessman Has Lightbulb Moment source

Last week I had a ‘light bulb’ moment. It occurred when I was talking to a trainer at the gym. I did know that I could move training sessions around as earlier this year I had moved my longer run to a Monday rather than a Sunday. It had not, however, occurred to me that I could actually  move it until Tuesday or Wednesday. I know that this is obvious but, well…..I am obviously not the brightest person around.

Source

My problem is that I work two long days on Thursday and Friday, leaving me little time or energy for training at the end of the week. Saturday is also pretty much a right off as well due to family commitments and overall tiredness. If I run a long run on Sunday then I find it hard to put in quality training sessions at the beginning of the week which is more convenient.

Swapping the long run means that this week I:

Ran a tempo run on Sunday

Interval on Monday.

Longish on Tuesday.

Recovery on Weds.

I now have a couple of days to rest. (and my body needs it!) 🙂

source

7 thoughts on “Flexibility is key!

  1. Gertie

    I’m exhausted just reading your blog !!!!!! You really are one active lady. I wish I had your motivation. I’m want to get back to my boxing just can’t get motivated even for ten minutes. Any suggestions…… xx

    Reply
  2. Jan

    I went to the gym, thought about doing 15 minutes on the cross trainer another 15 minutes on the rowing machine, ‘do’ a few weights but I had a whiff of coffee from the cafe so went there instead 🙂
    I admire your commitment. Have a great week, I hope the weather is not too bad for you 🙂

    Jan x

    Reply
  3. Pingback: Up and Down. | knitnrun4sanity

I love to hear your thoughts and views.

