The Chelsea Flower Show and crochet!

In my last post I hinted on some very exciting news concerning the Chelsea Flower Show (which, if you didn’t know is a very big deal here in the UK, the queen goes and everything!).

You remember the botanic project  where we crocheted plants and lichen? Well this time we are going slightly bigger. A designer that is based in Cambridge and has had a design for a garden approved contacted Joanne and asked if she would be interested in taking part in its creation. She of course said yes and, in due course, so did I. This week was our very first session where we found out all about it.

Now I am not very sure how much I am able to divulge here so shall have to ask at our next meeting. The designer works for a charity called Squeaky Gate. This link will take you straight through to the page which explains the garden theme in a lot more detail.

The theme is based around the issues of mental health:

– they are looking to include loads and loads of 2p pieces to represent the cost to the government caused by mental health

– there will be a pool

there will be blackboards

– there will be a huge structure 4 metres high covered in crochet letters

This is a prototype made by Joanne.

This is a prototype made by Joanne.

The black boards and the letters are going to include tips about how you maintain your mental health. Having suffered from post natal depression this subject is very dear to my heart. I firmly believe that the more we talk about it the less the stigma and the easier it will be for people to speak up and ask for help. The things that work for me are very clear to anyone who reads this blog – running and crafting are the things that keep me sane.

Do you have any tips that we can include? I tell you we have an awful lot of space to cover with words …..

These are some of the letters that we have come up with so far:

We have a very long way to go....

We have a very long way to go….

29 thoughts on “The Chelsea Flower Show and crochet!

  1. helen

    This is very exciting news. I’m looking forward to reading about the progress and seeing the finished work and all in such a great cause.

    Reply
  2. JenR

    What an amazing project! We, too, have this problem in the States and I have several friends who are working hard to end the stigma. I wish I could make it across the pond to see it in person but will look forward to your pictures!!

    Reply
  3. Vix

    Sounds amazing! I think the best advice I could give is to talk through your issues and let yourself be sad sometimes. Bottling things up is never healthy and if you get down for being down, it’s an endless cycle. Good luck x

    Reply
  4. lizzierosejewellery

    Good for you – that’s really exciting to be part of The Chelsea Flower Show, something I’ve always watched on TV but never had the good fortune to visit (one day…). I will look out for your garden. Good luck!

    Reply
  5. Gertie

    WOW !!!!! The Chelsea Flower Show. Have you come down off cloud nine yet…. What a fabulous project to be involved with. Although I don’t have green fingers (more like brown as I keep killing things….) we always watch the show. Good luck and it goes without saying, keep us informed as to how you’re getting on xx

    Reply
  6. *Wisher*

    wow.. this is such a great project to be in.. and I agree with you and doing the talking bit.. the idea i can think of is engaging the participants to crochet (If time allows) and they can paste their work on the space which of course give us guys some space to breath too and need not work too much

    Reply
  7. lovelucie1

    Wow! How exciting! How amazing for your group to be invited to contribute. I took my mum to Chelsea a couple of years ago. I will never forget it. I watch every year without fail and it was wonderful to see everything in the flesh. A wonderful day!
    So great to be part of it.

    Reply
    1. knitnrun4sanity Post author

      We are hopefully going to go and see it too and I cannot wait….never been and to think that I may go is excitement enough without having something that I have made in it.

      Reply
  8. Pingback: Not much to show :( | knitnrun4sanity

  9. Pingback: Crochet Art Project finished | knitnrun4sanity

I love to hear your thoughts and views.

