Reasons why you should join a running club

Last week it was raining, dark and I was tired. I decided to shake things up a bit and, for the first time ever, sent a text to check where a local running club met and set off. I didn’t stop to think about it until I was standing in the foyer of a sports centre, wearing my hi-vis vest feeling very self-conscious. Eventually a very kind person took pity on me and motioned that I should follow him. I did and was met by all these really fit, fast, speedy looking males. My worst nightmare.

Source

I was given a very nice welcome (it is hard to remain inconspicuous wearing a bright pink vest!). They asked me how much running I did……apologised for the fact that there were no girls there and….then another girl did arrive. I was not alone totally.

The plan was to run a warm up 1.5.miles to get to the place where we were going to run up a hill for 20 minutes. The warm up was more like my sprint but I managed not to be right at the back and not embarrass myself completely. It would appear that 2 miles down the road, across the border into Suffolk we leave the flat fens behind and enter hilly country, another challenge for my body!

We then arrived at the bottom of a hill. We then proceeded to run nearly all the way up it. We were then to spend the next 20 minutes running up and down it. This was just the sort of thing I was looking for. Yes there were some that were running UP it like they running DOWN it but I took it at my own pace and wasn’t at all bothered. No-one said anything except for the odd encouraging comment (everyone was working too hard!)

Source

Running back was at a slower pace and I chatted to some of the members a bit.Β  We spent some time stretching which was very appreciated.

So what did I gain?

  1. Commaradery – I was running with others which is incentive enough to get out there.
  2. Expert advice – I picked up a lot of tips just from that very first hour.
  3. Variety – it was really nice to run new routes and in a different environment.
  4. Effort – I definitely worked harder than I do when I am on my own.
  5. Confidence – I did a lot better than I believed I would do. At the start I did fear it would be a disaster! This continued into my runs at home.
  6. Mental strength – I did not let my mind win as there were a lot of distractions.

I am going back for more and I would definitely recommend any runner seeking one out, whatever your ability. I know that the club I went to has recently started a beginner club and I also know that there were some very good (elite?) runners running with me. There is something for everyone. Yes there is a lot of advice about on the internet but there is nothing like connecting with people.

Source

21 thoughts on “Reasons why you should join a running club

  1. Red Hen

    Scary running with all those guys! I see your point re running clubs but one thing I love about run training is that I can slip it in around the kids`activities.

    Reply
  2. youngatfifty

    Oh each time I read your running posts, I feel like running away from it ;D
    I tell myself I must start walking at least πŸ™‚
    Hats off to you for challenging yourself πŸ™‚ You truly are an all rounder.

    Reply
      1. youngatfifty

        I don’t mean to ofcourse πŸ™‚ I have this love – hate swings when I see women who jog and exercise. I feel inspired and humiliated at the same time πŸ˜‰ It is like I want to but lack the motivation to get walking (running is beyond me anyway) !

        Reply
  3. raphaele42

    It sounds like a brilliant time you had. I was always thunking clubs were for experienced runners. I want to start running again but find it hard to get motivated. I was thinking getting fit and then join a club once I run fast enough so the grannies going grocery shopping aren’t faster than me πŸ™‚

    Reply
  4. musingrunner

    I agree. I ran by myself for four or so years before my girlfriends started running, too. It is so much better in a group. Now, when I talk to myself when I run, at least someone is there to look like they are listening.

    Reply
  5. sue508

    Fantastic hunny!!! It’s really daunting running with a club for the first time. I love my club and get so much advice, friendship and inspiration from them. I’m never going to be ble to keep up with the ‘big boys’ who cruise past like elegant gazelles but I don’t care, I love it! πŸ™‚

    Reply

I love to hear your thoughts and views.

