Beaded beads

Browsing pinterest I have noticed that there are some lovely ‘beaded beads’ about. These are beads that are made from beads! They were very quickly added to my to-do list!

My first attempt didn’t turn out brilliantly although I learnt a lot:

My first attempt!

My first attempt!

This was from a free pattern, using twin beads from here. It was meant to have a wooden bead in it (I didn’t have one and so I wonder if this is the reason that mine was rather flat at the back?

Can you see?

Can you see? Definitely not a sphere shape.

What I did realise however is that making a beaded bead is very similar to crocheting a circle. I love when my crafting skills are cross contaminating!

I am getting closer although it is not quite a sphere yet.

I am getting closer although it is not quite a sphere yet.

I am really close now....

I am really close now….

Then, having a look around the internet when I found this:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?feature=player_embedded&v=jozVMG9T76I

Perfect.

From this, after a little bit of practice, I managed to make:

THIS. YAY :)

THIS. YAY πŸ™‚

All I needed apparently was 2 needles. One goal I can tick off. I think earrings are the way to go with this πŸ™‚

6 thoughts on “Beaded beads

I love to hear your thoughts and views.

