Viking Weave

I am not one to sit idle as you will be aware and last week was a bit of a challenge. The steroids that I was on made me shaky and I found it hard to concentrate on things for long. I was also mostly based around the bed thus ruling out many projects such as beading.

I have had a technique on my wish list for a while and I thought that this may well be the time to try…..viking knit. Viking knit is not knitting, really a weave. You end up with a rope like piece:

source

These can then be turned into jewellery pieces like:

source

I had bought the kit to do this when I did the celtic heart necklace with the wire mesh.

Source

This is the kit I got. It comes complete with a pair of nail clippers!! There is also a simple wire gizzard and some wire to have a go with. It was this wire that I started to work with. I found the instructions easy to follow and was able to get going quite quickly.

The beginnings of a Viking knit

The beginnings of a Viking knit

I obviously made a mistake on the second day that I picked this up and ended up having to undo a load due to leaving one of the loops out, but that is normal is it not? Overall, I got on very quickly the second day.

It grew quite quickly.

It grew quite quickly.

The one thing that I did struggle with was that I knew that I would be ‘stretching’ the braid and had no idea as to how much it would grow. I simply didn’t know when to stop. In the end I decided to stop when it nearly reached around my wrist.

I cut off the ends and thread wire through the ends to use as a lever to pull the weave through the draw plate.

I cut off the ends and thread wire through the ends to use as a lever to pull the weave through the draw plate.

Pulling it through the draw plate.

Pulling it through the draw plate.

Pulling it through the draw plate means that you can set the desired width and length. I am hoping that this will help to iron out the ‘imperfections’ that occurred whilst I was ‘weaving’. I shall keep you informed…..

20 thoughts on “Viking Weave

  1. KerryCan

    Neat! I’ll be interested to hear if the drawing of the chain evens its out. The only thing I’d worry about is that the wire could get stiff and brittle, from all the handling. Does the chain still seem pliable?

    Reply
  2. lovelucie1

    It’s always really interesting when you share the basics behind the jewelry we see on sale. I do find myself considering how something might be made now. Hope you are on the mend.

    Reply
  3. teaspoonofmel

    That looks really neat! My cousin creates chainmail, and the weave reminds me of the rings and bracelets he makes.
    And I hope the steroids are helping get you back on your feet!

    Reply
  4. e1aine

    This looks really good. I’d like to have a go but I think it looks a bit complicated. I guess I’m more of a ‘hammer’ girl. (Though I’ve borrowed hubby’s drill this week and I really like that).I’m interested to see the finished piece now.

    Reply

I love to hear your thoughts and views.

