Bezelling

I have worked on another of my items from my to – do list…..working with beads without holes or cabochon’s. I found these amazing beads called luna soft cabochon.

Luna Soft Cabochon 18mm Round - Blueberry

They almost seem to have a light inside them (they don’t photograph that well). As there is no hole in them you have to make a ‘case’ for them using seed beads. To be honest, my first attempt is not quite what I was hoping for but I did learn the name for beading techniques along the way.

I started off with a ladder weave:

Ladder weave

Ladder weave

bezel 2

I then added in some tiny size 15 seed beads.

bezel 3

Next a bit of tubular herringbone stitch.

bezel 4

This time tubular herringbone stitch with three seed beads.

bezel 5

A final row of size 11 seed beads finishes this side off.

I now need to finish off the bottom row.

I now need to finish off the bottom row.

My finished cabachon. It is a bit too enclosed for m liking but it is a  start and is something that I can work on.

My finished cabochon. It is a bit too enclosed for m liking but it is a start and is something that I can work on.

I then decided to have another go, using a slightly different technique this time….more beading techniques learnt. 🙂

bezel o 1

This time I started with a right angle weave stitch.

bezel o 2

Next I added a row of beads in between the top beads from the previous row.

bezel o 3

I then added a tiny size 15 seed bead in between each of these beads. This was the top half completed.

This is the finished item.

This is the finished item.

I have to say I am really pleased with this. I think that I will make it into a ring. I will be making more of these, that is for sure.

Which version do you prefer?

Which version do you prefer?

5 thoughts on “Bezelling

I love to hear your thoughts and views.

