Tying myself up in knots!

I recently had a look at some of the jewellery in the shops. I came across several pieces that I liked, this being one of them:

Friendship bracelet FAtFAce Sp14(From fatface)

In my everlasting optimism I decided to have a go at making my own version. It wasn’t as easy as I thought it would be but I am pleased with the final result.

I spent the first evening faffing about, thinking that I was getting it, only to take it all out to start again.ย The next day was much better although still pretty slow going. To start with I don’t have a wonderful macrame board so instead resorted to an animal litter box (which has never been used for the intended purpose I hasten to add) and a couple of clips:

The 'string' is two lots of two lengths of round coloured leather.

The ‘string’ is two lots of two lengths of round coloured leather. The thinner stuff is thread, again doubled which I will use to add the beads on.

At the top end there is a nice knot holding everything in place.

The first thing I did was to thread a closed jump ring through all the threads.

The first thing I did was to thread a closed jump ring through all the threads.

I then took each of the thinner threads over their matching leather thread, up through the middle and back over the sides before adding in 2 flower ‘spacer’ beads.

The two spacer beads.

The two spacer beads are threaded onto each of the needles in turn (each needle being threaded onto the thinner thread)

The thread was then taken over the leather, up through the middle and out again before the beads were actually added:

Over, up, under and out!

Over, up, under and out!

Both of the needles go through the beads in the opposite way.

Both of the needles go through the beads in the opposite way.

Showing the threads being pulled once the needles have been put through.

Showing the threads being pulled once the needles have been put through.

This is repeated until you have enough to cover 3/4 of your wrist:

Once you have added enough beads you add two more spacer beads as you did at the start.

Once you have added enough beads you add two more spacer beads as you did at the start.

I then tied a knot before adding 4 square knots to help secure all the threads. I then added some glue and cut the thinner threads off. I then did this the other side.

Tying the square knots.

Tying the square knots.

I then cut another length of leather and finished the bracelet off with more square knots , thus giving an adjustable strap:

IMG_0394IMG_0389So there you have it. My version of a shop bought bracelet. If you want any more info then, as always head over to Spoilt Rotten Beads where you will be able to find links to all the materials as well as a bit more detail.

Oh and I have just noticed that this is very seasonal with it being ST Patricks Day this week. Happy St Patricks Day – Iย  shall name my bracelet St Patrick’s day bracelet! ๐Ÿ™‚

28 thoughts on “Tying myself up in knots!

  1. Red Hen

    You made a wonderful job of that bracelet. I often see some of those shop bought ones and wonder if they’ve involved child labour or any kind of exploitation to make them. Not saying they do. I just wonder sometimes, that’s all. It sure looks like difficult work.

    Reply
  2. salpal1

    lol I am knitting a piece now that much resembles this! It is the Ribband pattern by Laura Nelkin, (can be spotted on ravelry, of course) and I really love it. But it seems slower than your process. I might have to try a little macramรฉ – even if we haven’t got an unused cat box!

    Reply
  3. Patty

    I’m becoming a big fan of your jewellery; I simply love the colours you choose! Good for you that you were able to make a fabulous bracelet just like the one you saw ๐Ÿ™‚ I had no idea the amount of work it envolved and from now onwards I’ll have more respect for this kind of work.

    Reply

I love to hear your thoughts and views.

