Silence is golden?

I wonder how long any of you could survive without speaking? No whispering allowed either. A day, half a day? I urge you to give it a go. It is hard.
This is the situation I found myself in on Weds this week. It appears that my month and a half of illness is now a throat infection and my doctor is worried I will do some long-term damage to my throat if I don’t rest it. Great.
Asking questions is out. Writing things down is so slow. Reading a bedtime story to my boys is out. Answering anything when not in the room is out. To top it off I feel like I am being rude by not talking and responding to people when I am out and about.

Source
I took 2 of my boys out this afternoon, on their bikes. Not a great plan. I was unable to warn them, guide them or help them in any way at all. Luckily they are trustworthy.
Silence is not golden when it is me being silent. As for my boys…..now that is a different story 😉

14 thoughts on “Silence is golden?

  1. Nice piece of work

    I clicked Like not because I like what you have to say – or write, rather – but more in sympathy! Sorry to hear this, but you must do what you have to do. I really hope your throat gets better soon. Isn’t spring coming your way – ? That should help a bit 🙂

    Reply
  2. Patty

    I totally understand the golden silence rule concerning the boys, but it’s also very disturbing when they are too quiet, right? Get well soon. xx

    Reply
  3. garnharmoni

    Poor you! I hope you recover soon and I am sure you have plenty of people to tell you to drink ginger and lemon tea with honey! That is what I have lived off recently after an acute bronchitis made serious by asthma made breathing difficult. Improving, but, like you, been ill for quite some time and I really understand how hard that is on the spirit, on the feeling of letting others down. I hope you can find solice in the calm of knitting and creativity and take the time you need to recover fully. Hugs from Sweden! /Christina

    Reply

I love to hear your thoughts and views.

