Where will blogging take you?

I have been blogging for just over two years now and I can say without any doubt at all, it has changed my life. It is no secret that when I started off I was determined to hide my true identity from the whole of social media. Plain and simply I was scared. It didn’t help that I had been a very shy teenager and young adult.

Source

Gradually my confidence has grown. I have ‘met’ loads of amazing people that have inspired me, supported me and encouraged me. Most of them I have never met, nor will I, but that does nothing to lesson the part that they play in my life. I am eternally grateful.

During my time blogging I have tried to enable people to join the party with my tips for blogging. I really try to give something back. Gradually, my confidence increased and when I had a nasty mole removed I felt able to share my story ..

I still have tried to keep my true identity a secret but that ends today, right now. Regular readers will know that I was lucky enough to get a ballot place for the London Marathon. I then decided that I wanted to take this opportunity to raise money for

Β following my experiences with Post Natal Depression. Again, I wanted to give something back.

Sharing my experiences on here was OK. It was relatively easy as I feel really comfortable and will not have to meet anyone face to face. Then I had a message from Emma Higginbotham, a writer at my local newspaper. Would I allow her to do a feature? hmmm that was a bit harder as it is local, people I know would read it……Nervously I said yes.

It. Was. The. Best. Decision. Ever.

I am so pleased that I did it. It was published yesterday and I couldn’t have been happier. Emma did an amazing job. You can read it, in its entirety here (and see what I look like – I hope I don’t disappoint!) Without my blogging this would have never happened.

Newmarket News masthead

I set out with the aim of helping just one person. I am now getting greedy. Please share this, to help get the word out. It is not something to be shamed of and you can recover. I never thought that I would….but I did. I have never felt judged when I managed to admit it. It is my way of saying thank you to the people who helped me. I want to return their favour and help others. Together we can be stronger and get rid of the stigma.

Thank you. x

 

46 thoughts on “Where will blogging take you?

  1. KerryCan

    Well, isn’t this the best post ever!? How brave and strong of you–and, to think, I was impressed by the marathon running–now I’m REALLY impressed! I somehow had missed the post about the melanoma–that must’ve been terrifying. But I’m so glad you’ll be fine and that you’ve come so far and can share your experience to help others suffering with depression. And I loved seeing your photo–you’re beautiful, of course!

    Reply
  2. youngatfifty

    Bravo !!! Hats off to you !! I thought you were a woman of many skills but now you have bowled me over by your courageous battle both with PND and the melanoma that wasn’t to be !!! The best part of it all is you look beautiful πŸ™‚ I know you are still shy and so I will not address you by name even if I know it now πŸ˜€ (I share the same bashfulness :))
    And yes I totally agree with you, blogging is extremely empowering in more ways than one. The power of sharing – ideas, opinions, feelings, experiences is very energising. We seem to recognise the benefits of this ‘feel good’ factor only now. It cant be dismissed as a mere placebo or an adventure in vanity !!

    Reply
  3. JenR

    Love putting a face with the comments πŸ™‚ And what a great article – I applaud all who are working to end the stigma of mental illness. Best of luck in the marathon – can’t wait to read about it!!!

    Reply
  4. Gallivanta

    A wonderful article and you have an inspiring/heartwarming story to tell. And, without a doubt, you are fabulous inside and out…… πŸ™‚ . All the best for the Marathon. Can’t believe it’s already time for that.

    Reply
  5. Nice piece of work

    Your story is wonderful. I couldn’t be more proud of you if you were my very own sister! Despite my mental ups and downs now, surprisingly I didn’t get postnatal depression, but I have friends who did. They only told me afterwards, how much they had struggled. I must have been blind not to have picked up what they were going through. I’m going to pass this article on to them anyway, even though their children are near-adults, because they’ll be able to recognise themselves in it. Thank you for being so open.

    Reply
  6. pippypoppy85

    What an amazing blog post and wonderful article – thank you for sharing it and I wish you so much luck for next week. I’m coming down to watch so I’ll look out for you xx

    Reply
  7. lovelucie1

    Fabulous, fabulous article!!! You look a lot younger than I expected. You come across as wise beyond your years.
    How very brave to put yourself out there. If only one person (and I’m sure there’ll be many more) recognises the need to get help for themselves or a loved one, how very much worth it it will have been. xx

    Reply
    1. knitnrun4sanity Post author

      Thank you so much. It is a huge confidence boost to be told you look younger than you sound. πŸ˜‰ I think some of that is that I have been through quite a lot in my short life πŸ™‚ xx

      Reply
  8. e1aine

    Brilliant article. You are very brave to have stepped into the limelight, but I’m quite sure it will help others. Thankfully the stigma of mental illness is lifting and bright, pretty engaging people like yourself, telling your stories, are the ones making that happen.

    Well done. I admire you.

    Reply
  9. tgonzales

    Alice, I loved you before and now even more. He that rhymes. LOL I love your braveness (if that’s a word?) and love that you are getting the word out there. Way to go, girl. Oh by the way you are beautiful too; inside and out. Tamara

    Reply
  10. Ali

    Wow Alice you really are an amazing woman. The article is wonderful and you look so happy and bubbly. I’m so impressed that your running in the London Marathon and for such a wonderful cause. I suffered from PND 22 years ago and when I asked my Health Visitor for help she just brushed my concerns to one side. The result of this has been years of depression and me being too ashamed to ask for help. I was so pleased to read that things have changed and you had such a fantastic Health Visitor. Thanks so much for sharing your story and being so brave. This will help so many women.
    Ali xx

    Reply
    1. knitnrun4sanity Post author

      Oh I am really, really sorry to hear that. I am so hoping that this will help to prevent this from happening in the future. It makes my blood boil! There is currently no funding for the support groups that were so helpful to me in this area anymore which is so, so sad. Thanks for taking the time to comment. x

      Reply
  11. Patty

    Dear Alice, right now I can only think in Portugueses and I wish you could speak it; so,I’m going to try to express myself and hope my words reach your soul. your are absolutely an astonishing lady! God knows how hard it must have been, but you have open you heart and mind so that others could bound with your story and realise that nothing is impossible. We all go through ups and downs in life and we happily share the joyful moments and hide the painful ones… I Thank you so much for sharing, for saying it out loud and for being a caring mind. God bless you!

    Reply
  12. Angela

    Well done Alice! Inspiring and comforting report. Wishing you lots of luck for the Marathon- brilliant cause x

    Reply
  13. musingrunner

    Lovely article and picture. I had anxiety issues that turned out to be caused by low thyroid but it took over a year to get it treated because the first people I saw told me it was normal. Then my hair started falling out and I went to my Ob/gyn and she tested for thyroid and fixed me up. I am still getting my fitness back, but I feel like my old self again. I am glad that blogging was such a help to you. I really enjoy your posts.

    Reply
  14. helen

    Hello, I’m a bit late to this as I’ve been away with work for the last 2 weeks with no access to wordpress (China obviously doesn’t like it??).
    I applaude you for your honesty, it is a lovely article.
    I suffered after my first child and it took me 2 years to seek help and since having a positive experience with my second child I can now see what a dark place I was in.
    Love reading the blog and good luck for marathon 2015!

    Reply

I love to hear your thoughts and views.

