Diamond Beaded Earrings

This last week I have been working on beading techniques, and producing some lovely bits of jewellery as well (yes, I do say it myself!). Firstly I made some earrings:

The earrings.

The earrings.

In order to make these I had to master ladder stitch and brick stitch. It took a bit of practice but I managed it in the end as the photograph above shows.

Can you tell which one is my practice one? (the one on the left!)

Can you tell which one is my practice one? (the one on the left!)

As I mentioned the first stitch that I learnt how to do was the ladder weave. This was the starting point and was the way I built up the row of pearls in the middle.

The last three steps are repeated until you get the length you require.

For this pattern it was 7.

For this pattern it was 7.

To begin with I found it tricky to get the holes all facing the same way (up and down and not facing the beads adjacent), with practice and a bit of manipulation this became easier. We are now ready to start the brick stitch. This is where you realise the importance of the position of the holes in the ladder stitch row as you thread the needle under the thread that runs along the top and bottom of the beads.

Brick stitch automatically forms a triangle shape so you end up with a piece looking like this:

IMG_0560For these earrings I chose to add 4 pearls to the top as a loop to add the earring hook onto:

IMG_0561The thread has to be brought back down to the pearl row so you can complete another set of brick stitch:

IMG_0563This end I added a larger pearl sandwiched between two smaller ones as a final detail.

IMG_0564I have had real trouble with the photography of these earrings. I wish you could see the true colour of these earrings – they are a lovely bright green/turquoise colour and look amazing. I am really looking forward to the chance to wear these with a lovely summer dress. 😉

This is a pattern that I really like and shall be doing again. I have an idea for a bracelet………

The other stitch that I have been working on is right-angled weave which I shall be sharing with you very soon. I really hope that you are having a wonderful weekend and not eating too much chocolate.

6 thoughts on “Diamond Beaded Earrings

  1. tgonzales

    Oh Alice I do love the earrings and I don’t know how you do such fine intricate work. My hands would cramp so bad. I would love to see the earrings in person since the color you mention is one of my all time favorites as my computer makes them look silver. Of course there is nothing wrong with silver but I bet the turquoise color is much prettier. Anyway, thanks for sharing and I am looking forward to seeing your right-angled weave creation. Hugs, Tamara

    Reply

I love to hear your thoughts and views.

