Coping……just.

I know that I am not alone in this – when life gets very stressful my beloved blog and social media gets severely neglected. As this has happened rather a lot recently I am not going to apologise (although you know that I am really), rather take this opportunity to share with you how I am coping with a particularly stressful week.

Source

Without going into too much detail, last week started off with a long Monday night visit to the local A and E with my eldest. We plodded along until Thursday when my youngest was sick. Then, Saturday night my other two. This is on top of the normal end of term stresses.

Lack of sleep made the decision to drop out of the 10k race on Sunday easy. Did I take the day easy? Probably not enough. There were things that did drop off the to-do list, visiting a few local studios one of them :(.

When I am stressed I am really good at coping. Afterwards comes the reaction and the ‘crash!’. Today is the day I crashed. I am cross with myself because I should have seen it coming. I slept for about 12 hours and got up fine. Dropped my youngest off at school and went to the office to let them know about the other two being absent…..and came out in tears! I came home and collapsed on the sofa.

I soon realised that I had two choices; stay on the sofa in tears all day, hiding from the rest of the world or try to do something about it.

Source

I was really lucky that my husband was working from home for a time this morning so I decided to take the opportunity to go for a run.

Despite feeling like I was running in a steam room due to the high humidity, it has done the trick. On my way out I saw a REALLY close friend. It took every inch of my will power to look at her and smile before the tears started again. By the time that I had puffed my way around 3 miles I was able to stop and chat to someone quite normally.

I now feel that the day will be fairly productive rather than wasting it in tears. It has also kicked started my return to blogging.

As write this it has occurred to me that crafting would be a lot of people’s choice to help them get through times of stress, indeed it would also be mine, however this last week I have been unable to settle at anything. I did start a bracelet but it did not go very well and since then I have not had the energy to do anything. Today I am hoping that I have broken the cycle. It seems that I need running as well as craft to get me through. What about you? What strategies do you have?

My craft attempt.

My craft attempt.

(Please note that I am not writing this to get any sympathy, rather as a record to help me try to see my crashes happen in the future. Also it may help others in some small way?)

 

15 thoughts on “Coping……just.

  1. Sally

    Sorry to hear about your stressful week. I hope your children are well now. There really is nothing like a run and a bit of crafting to help with stress. I know that if I didn’t do both regularly I would be a bit of a nervous, stressed out wreck! I hope you have a good day and enjoy the sunshine!

    Reply
  2. Sarah

    I’ve also seen too much of hospitals over the last few weeks. I also cope okay in the moment but when I crash it’s usually by getting a migraine. This forces me to retreat and rest. It’s definitely handy to have a husband around to take the reins. 🙂 I think art helps me recover. I haven’t really analysed it properly but I can think I can see the hurt coming out in my latest piece.

    Reply
    1. knitnrun4sanity Post author

      That doesn’t sound good although if it helps then that is really good. Our bodies do know what is good for us….I just think that we are not very good at listening to ourselves??

      Reply
      1. Sarah

        I’m terrible at listening to my body. So it forces me to slow down sometimes.
        I hope your situation has improved. Things are gradually getting back to normal here.

        Reply
  3. KerryCan

    That really was a rough week! But I have to say, you seem to have come through in an impressive way. It’s good you know yourself so well and have the self-control to give yourself what you need. And, yes, exercise and quiet crafting helps me too, when I’m overwhelmed.

    Reply
  4. tgonzales

    I hate hearing that you are so stressed but I fully understand. I’m in the same place in my life right now…very stressed. Thanks so much for sharing. Love and extra ((((HUGS)))) sent your way.

    Reply
  5. Ali

    I’m sorry to hear your feeling really stressed. Ending the school year is full on enough, my Mum was a teacher so I know how hard it can be. I really do think it’s great that you can vent here. Quite often I’d like to say something on my blog but as my daughter reads it I keep it for my ‘real’ friends. Just writing it down has got to help. I don’t know if you follow Sarah at Crafts from the Cwtch but last month she did a post about how crochet heals people. The links here if you’d like to check it out http://www.craftsfromthecwtch.co.uk/2014/06/has-crochet-helped-you.html
    I’m glad the running helped, although I’m more of a yoga girl, as long as it helps it’s good.
    Take care of yourself.
    Ali xx

    Reply
  6. musingrunner

    I also run and craft for stress relief. A good book helps me to escape, also. When I find myself craving sugar, I know I am overwhelmed. Hope all kids are well now and you and your husband don’t catch it.

    Reply
  7. Vicky Myers

    Hugs – hope you all feel better soon, and all catch up on sleep. I am not good with employing coping strategies – I find a friend and let off steam with a girly chat:) Recently been seeing an osteopath, for other reasons, but I’m sure it is helping with my stress levels.

    Reply
  8. bekswhoknits

    Yeh I’m currently thinking I need to record my good days and bad days. There’s just so much energy required to do the most basic things at the moment. Hope things look up for you soon. xx

    Reply
  9. feelgoodknitting

    I am definitely familiar with the cope-then-crash. Among other things, it’s why I tend to get sick on school breaks. A crashing immune system is definitely a common symptom of my “crashes”, and like you a pretty constant and consistently unexpected flood of tears is as well. Usually for a day or two all I can do is hide from the world, maybe reading a book to distract from real life and avoiding people and responsibility as much as possible. After a day or two I start to feel guilty about all my neglected “responsibilities”, even if they’re self imposed and no one else really cares. I find then that doing just one thing, like going grocery shopping or doing laundry, makes me feel more in control and accomplished again. That tends to be the spur that gives me enough energy to make myself work out, and knit a little. Then I really start to feel better.

    Wow, that turned into a bit of a novel. Hope you (and the kids) are feeling better! I’m sending hugs and “feel better” vibes from America!

    Reply

I love to hear your thoughts and views.

