A sneaky day out

I was very privileged to be able to take a day ‘off’ from children to spend a day with Joanne (notsogranny) and go to Fibre East. It was my first time to a wool show and I was very much looking forward to it.

I was not disappointed.

The day was very enjoyable (except for being broken by a personal training session the day before which made my legs seize up and hobble around like an ancient lady).

Our excuse for going was to collect the crochet panels that had been on display there:

They were on display in the main hall just near the entrance.

They were on display in the main hall just near the entrance.

IMG_1010Of course they needed picking up at 4.30 when the show closed but it would be a shame to drive all that way and not actually go around the show at all wouldn’t it? We got there at about 11!

The show itself had plenty of lovely stalls to browse around and lots of lovely yarn to stroke and look at as well. It all felt quite relaxed and although busy it was not so bad that you couldn’t see what you wanted to see.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

There were lots of demonstrations; spinning, weaving, felting and rug making:

Joanne had a go at this - hew perfectionism worked to her advantage with this - she was very neat and good at it.

Joanne had a go at this – hew perfectionism worked to her advantage with this – she was very neat and good at it.

Of course I was not able to come away out buying anything. I was really after a shawl to make but fell in love with a beautiful lacy top which just so happened to be made out of some gorgeous local yarn that I first came across at a local National Trust wool fair (yes, I know that it technically means that I have been to 2 wool fairs but this was a proper grown up one!) I always knew that I would end up with some of this yarn!

I wish you could stroke this yarn...

I wish you could stroke this yarn…

The bonus of going along with a fab designer is that she knows a lot of people in the business which means that I get to talk to some really interesting people and learn all sorts of great things. Today, for example, I learnt that you can wind a skein all by yourself – no chair, child, husband or even a swift needed! It also meant that I was able to put a face to a few people from twitter that I ‘know’. All in all a perfect day. Thank you so much Joanne – you are the best.

(In case you are wondering – yes we did get the panels back all safely!)

19 thoughts on “A sneaky day out

  1. KerryCan

    This does sound like a perfect day! The displays look exciting–I love seeing lots of different techniques and materials and styles all in one place!

    Reply
  2. Pingback: Fibre East | Not So Granny

  3. JenR

    The rug making looked very interesting! I love the color of yarn you bought – that will be beautiful! I love seeing your posts from shows across the pond and compare to the shows I go to here in the States – yea for the internet!!!

    Reply

I love to hear your thoughts and views.

