Bank Holiday Acticities

Regular readers of this little space will have noticed that I have had a little holiday. I have read many of your wonderful blog posts over the last week but have only just read and answered many of your comments. If you have a comment from me that makes no sense at all then forgive me for the long pause.

I shall share a bit about my holiday in a later post but today I want to share with you our adventure today. It is a bank holiday here in England this weekend and, surprisingly quite sunny. This was just as well as I had promised my boys that I would take them to the local junior park run. For those of you who don’t know, park runs are free, timed, weekly events that take place up and down the country (and even internationally). The adult distance is 5K and my eldest has beaten me several times over this distance.

Our local park run takes place in a wooded area with gravel pits.

Our local park run takes place in a wooded area with gravel pits.

Today was all about the under 14’s. It was run over 2k and was a REALLY pleasant experience. It was really well organised with a very clear briefing (by a very friendly youngster) and a brief but fun warm up.

The warm up.

The warm up.

It was very well marshaled with the whole course covered so that participants could be seen at all times. (It is a public park.) It was a lovely atmosphere with parents allowed to join in.

My children set off at a real sprint and we soon lost them all. After a while I managed to catch them up and ran the majority of it with my middle one (there was no way I was going to be able to catch up with my eldest, indeed I expected to be lapped by him!) My youngest managed to help his Dad get around in one piece!

The finishing funnel.

The finishing funnel.

Later that morning the results were in letting them know how fast they ran it, what position they were in and how they did compared to their age group.

I think this is an event that we will be returning to. I cannot fault it at all – especially as it is the only way I will ever get my husband running (and it will do him the world of good!)

I hope you all enjoyed your weekends as much.x

6 thoughts on “Bank Holiday Acticities

I love to hear your thoughts and views.

