Progress on the leggings has been a bit slow this week. Too many mistakes and a bit more playing about. When it came to adding the pocket the pattern suggested using a twin needle, something I just couldn’t resist. Not that I know what I am doing. I didn’t even know that they existed before I started playing with the new machines.

The big news is that I still don’t really know what I am doing and have yet to complete this part of the pattern. I have lots of bits of sewing on the oddments of material that I have but nothing on the actual leggings. I did try to but it just wouldn’t work right. I shall have to do some more playing and a bit more research :).

I do now have the ‘back’ to the leggings now:

IMG_1209To go with the front from last week:

IMG_1204(Just proving that they are different!)

As my lovely sister-in-law said – a bit blowy to wear yet! Lets hope that this week is slightly less busy and I get more done!

I did learn some lessons however:

1. Don’t rush – I sewed the pieces together the wrong way around (Shhhh I know!)

2. Don’t sew when tired (see above!)

3. Unpick in daylight (SO much easier and you are less likely to put little holes in the material ;))

So there you have it. Do you have any advice when it comes to using twin needles?

PS: It would appear that I didn’t break the other machine – it must have been the dust that went up in smoke! (Phew!)

16 thoughts on “

  1. Nice piece of work

    I’ve never used a twin needle but it sounds like I might need to one of these days…. Am impressed with your progress, coming along very nicely πŸ™‚
    Re your #1 – this applies to even experienced sewers !

    Reply
      1. Nice piece of work

        and on the very same day I read and agreed with your post, I rushed into making a furry bear hoodie thing and BUGGERED IT UP !!!! Sewed the lining to the shell the wrong way round and had to UNPICK…..grrrrr I’ll never learn

        Reply
  2. KerryCan

    You’re trying to make your own leggings?! I cannot even begin to imagine–sewing is just not my thing! But I’m very impressed and will look forward to seeing the finish product!

    Reply
  3. helen

    Sometimes getting the tension right with a twin needle can be a bit of a chore. You fabric is quite stretchy too which also brings it’s own challenges.
    Keep on going!

    Reply
  4. jodiebodie

    I am sorry that I am no wiser about twin needles than you are! Helen’s tip about tension is a starting point. I imagine it is like everything else, experiment with tension, stitch lengths and types etc. Thank you for asking the question though, as I am sure you have an audience keen to learn about twin needles as well, myself included.
    Your rules are golden – I am blushing because I had to learn those rules the hard way too! πŸ˜‰
    Good luck with the leggings; Surely the stretchy material will be forgiving if there are any little foibles. I know you will work it out and have a great result. So far so good… πŸ™‚

    Reply

I love to hear your thoughts and views.

