A different way of cutting

Did I tell that I have recently had a birthday? Birthdays means treats and this year it meant that I finally got my hands on:

A rotary cutter

A rotary cutter

I first heard about this about a year ago. I was not convinced until I tried to cut out lycra. It was not easy as the material is so stretchy and slippery.

As you can see I have finally managed to get around to having a play.

Lets just say I love it. It is so sharp, it cuts through the 2 layers of lycra with ease. I am able to cut accurately as the material stays flat on the table, you just run the blade around the edge of the pattern. No lifting, stretching or moving.

The only slight issue that I had was not meeting up at the corners quite, leaving the piece joined to the main material.

IMG_1254Can you see on the top right? This is easy enough to rectify – you just chop it but it is a bit annoying!

When done properly this is all you are left with - a clear hole in the shape of the peice.

When done properly this is all you are left with – a clear hole in the shape of the piece.

Oh and you can see how it also cuts through the paper pattern a bit too! 😉

As to what I am making …..more on that another time. I simply didn’t get enough done to show you today.

13 thoughts on “A different way of cutting

  1. helen

    Back in November I got a rotary cutter and mat for my birthday and it’s made such a difference to the speed and accuracy of cutting out knitted fabrics.

    Reply

I love to hear your thoughts and views.

