Leggings

I have been so busy crafting there has been very little time for blogging! I do now have a lot to share with you now. πŸ™‚ The first thing that I am going to share with you is the first item of clothing that I have made recently (ie the last 20 odd years!):

The 'finished' leggings.

The ‘finished’ leggings.

I have put finished in inverted commas because they are not finished (the ends are not sewn in etc).

To be honest I struggled with these. The leggings above are actually the second pair I attempted as the first were even worse!

I am not going to share the pattern that I used with you because I don’t want to mislead you. I am absolutely sure that there is nothing wrong with the pattern and everything wrong with me. I know this because I have since successfully made another pattern from the same source!

Although I have said that the fault lays with me I have got some excuses. The first, (and probably the main) is the material that I have used. Being meant for working out it needs to be stretchy – in 4 different ways. This in itself comes with its own problems:

Can you see the puckering just behind the side seem?

Can you see the puckering just behind the side seam?

This (so I believe) is a result of me over stretching the material as I sewed it.

Having since made another exercise piece I now think that the material I used for this project was not as good quality as I would ideally have liked. I bought this over the internet which meant that I couldn’t actually feel it before I bought it. It seems quite thin. Maybe I am clutching at straws and simply making excuses?

I also think that I was maybe a bit ambitious with this project as my first one for many, many years. Sewing with stretchy material is not quite as easy as using something like cotton that will not move as you sew it. Before you ask, yes I did tack all the seams to minimise the movement as much as I can.

I will however, be making this project again as I will not be beaten πŸ˜‰ I just need to find the right material.

23 thoughts on “Leggings

  1. Nice piece of work

    I agree with you, you were ambitious with your first sewing project! Don’t let it put you off, the pattern and the type of fabric you’re working with aren’t easy – even an experienced seamstress would have to experiment and make more than one sample πŸ™‚ Your leggings are fantastic, I’d wear them πŸ™‚

    Reply
  2. bekswhoknits

    they look fantastic!!!
    Seriously first sewing project, stretchy fabric, and from a pattern? I think that you’re not giving yourself enough credit.

    They fit and you’re wearing them. That is an awesome achievement.

    Reply
  3. KerryCan

    That was brave! But it’s a great thing to get you motivated, since you love to run so much and making your leggings would give you quite the wardrobe!

    Reply
  4. healthyfrenchie

    I honestly thought you had bought new leggings when I saw the picture in my feed. I see what you mean about the rushing behind the leg but they absolutely look wearable for a run to me πŸ™‚ Well done

    Reply
  5. jodiebodie

    There’s a reason why one often sees advertised sewing classes to learn how to sew with stretch fabric. Don’t be too critical about your results.
    Even if you feel self-conscious about the faults you can see and don’t want to use them as outerwear, they can still make a nice extra layer of warmth underneath something else. Puckering – what is that? Some wrinkles. Clothes will wrinkle when you move in them. Quite frankly, I doubt anyone else will notice.
    You have iidentified issues that you need to work on and this is a good guide for further learning and skill development. Good job! πŸ™‚

    Reply
    1. knitnrun4sanity Post author

      You are far too kind but I really appreciate your comments. I have learnt so much and I guess that you are right re wearing them. They even have a secret pocket and everything! Thank you.xβ€οΈπŸ’“πŸ’– πŸ˜ƒ

      Reply
  6. helen

    I think you’ve done a good job here! The high stretch fabric makes this quite an ambitious project especially with the contrast panels.

    Reply

I love to hear your thoughts and views.

