TAPER Time!

A week today and I will have finished the London Marathon (fingers crossed). It will leave a big empty hole in my life. 16 + weeks of build up, the culmination and then ……The running will obviously continue (as long as no injury occurs) but hopefully there will be a bit more time left for crafting. In reality however I suspect work will quickly fill any gap left.

The journey so far has been amazing. I have ‘met’ and conversed with a lot of amazing people on social media. I am already a completely different person (better obviously ;)). I have also learnt an awful lot more about running than I would have ever believed possible. I suspect I will learn an awful lot more about me next week!

As for this week: TAPER Time.

 

 

Source

To be precise I have really been on taper for the last couple of weeks. This means that my running mileage reduces right down having been ridiculously high (nearly 40 miles Easter week). The longest runs were 12 and 10 miles during the last couple of weeks.  It is a bit of shock to think that 12 miles is now considered to be a short run! For this last week I have only a couple of gentle runs to do. Nothing long. Nothing fast. The idea behind this is to allow your body to recover and replenish all the stores of glycogen so that you get to the start line in tip-top condition (well as best as is humanly possible!)

All the training is done. Nothing more can be done on the running side (eeek!). I can however rest and eat well. This week I shall be going to bed early (for me that will probably mean 8 O’clock!), trying to drink more than normal (water obviously) and eat well. Towards the end of the week I will be increasing my carbs.

I have prepared well:

Chocolate and carrot cake!

Chocolate and carrot cake!

The only problem is trying to stop everyone else eating these before I can get to them!

The down side to this tapering is the side effects:

Source

We are used to running. Not being able to run is hard on the mind. You are aware of any minute aches and pains, convincing yourself that you have an injury or illness that will completely scupper your marathon plans. Add nerves to this and well….lets just say it will probably not be very pleasant for my poor family.

At least it is short-lived! In case you are wondering I have booked a few races for after the marathon just to give me something to aim for.

 

Thanks for reading. Sorry for babbling on about running, AGAIN!

7 thoughts on “TAPER Time!

  1. feelgoodknitting

    I saw on Twitter the other day that you’ve now run the marathon. Congrats! Hope it was totally awesome. Hubby is currently sad because he recently realized he’ll have to miss the (next fall) marathon he signed up for, but since he’ll miss it to be in Spain instead I just can’t seem to feel too sorry for him.

    Reply
      1. feelgoodknitting

        Well, in his defense the military hadn’t yet told him he’d be going to Spain. There is no way on earth I could run a marathon! I’ll stick to my 5ks thank you. 🙂

        Reply

I love to hear your thoughts and views.

