Virgin London Marathon – the Expo

It has taken me this long to process it. It was one of the hardest but most amazing things I have done. I still cannot believe I managed to do it! The first thing that struck me about the marathon is how much hype there is about it. It was all over the media. You could hardly turn the radio or TV on without it being mentioned somewhere. That in turn meant that everyone was asking me whether I was ready and wishing me luck. Amazing but it did mean that there was very little time to forget that it was happening.

The first big thing that we had to do was to go down and collect the race number the week before the race. I went with my friend who, lucky for me was also running the marathon this year. As we were travelling down on the day, my friend and I went down on the Wednesday. This was the first day that it hit me. I was going to run (well shuffle) the London marathon.

This is where you get your number from.

This is where you get your number from.

As Wednesday was the first day it was open it was really nice and quiet. No queues! Well organised though.

No expense spared!

No expense spared! This is where we went next – to go and get our timing chips.

As it was the 35th anniversary we were going to be able to keep these timing chips. They were a special edition.

The wording says ready for my

The wording says Ready for my greatest run ever. How true this was.

We then wandered around the rest of the expo –  a range of stalls with people trying to get us to buy things or enter into more races. I managed to buy myself a pair of running leggings but otherwise was very restrained. 🙂

There were also some motivational talks about what to expect and how to deal with race day.

There were also some motivational talks about what to expect and how to deal with race day.

Finally there were some amazing facts about the marathon.

Finally there were some amazing facts about the marathon.

A few that I can remember:

It is the biggest single fundraiser in the world.

It is shown on the TV in over 100 countries.

The percentage of women runners has gradually increased over the years.

There are 36, 000 people running the marathon this year.

Most of the places are charity places.

I came home really excited and more than ready to do this!

 

 

2 thoughts on “Virgin London Marathon – the Expo

I love to hear your thoughts and views.

