Not so much of a rest day

So today was not strictly a rest day, more of an active rest day. I biked to work. The reason was because I cannot do it tomorrow and I have sort of promised myself a real rest day on Friday.

At 7 O’clock this morning it was really dark and I was willing it to get lighter. 7.15 still willing, 7.20 thinking that maybe this wasn’t such a good idea, 7.30 as I woke the children up really thinking that I had lost my marbles. At least it wasn’t raining. As I left the house I realised just why it was so dark. It was foggy. Yuck.

2016-01-06 07.55.58

By this time there was no going back in my mind. I arranged my backpack so that it was wearing a reflective vest, my son turned my lights on for me and off I set…..wearing 1 glove because I couldn’t find the other. To be clear, I don’t have to travel on the main roads as there is a cycle path most of the way. It does take me through a village that I could bypass which also happens to contain rather a steep hill but I would rather that than land up under a car!

2016-01-06 07.55.52

Even though I stopped to take these photos I was still 20 minutes which was not bad going.

My legs did scream a bit on the way home after last nights run but I feel so much better for biking. I have more energy than I do when I drive.

On the way home it was drizzling but no longer foggy. I did wonder what I would do if it got all icy though. What do you think?

4 thoughts on “Not so much of a rest day

  1. lovelucie1

    Impressed! We do a group Thursday night cycle. It’s completely in the dark but there’s usually at least 10 of us lit up like Christmas trees.
    I’m not keen on the lone cycle down to where our group meet but thank fully my OH picks me up at the pub afterwards!
    I wear flourescent wrist bands so drivers can see my arms when I’m indicating. Be wary of how long your light batteries last and perhaps carry spares. x

    Reply
  2. helen

    well done! Lighter morning will start coming soon. I always carry spare batteries too as it’s horrible to get caught out with a barely there headlight.

    Reply

I love to hear your thoughts and views.

