I won

After all my exertion of Thursday in the snow, rain and cold. I was determined to keep warm yesterday so studiously ignored my son with his pleading to bike to school. It was icy anyway – far too dangerous. As it turned out the afternoon was gloriously sunny and I would have loved to bike home but the morning was not very enticing.

Preventing Hypothermia

I had thought that yesterday would be a rest day but in actual fact, I had an hour and thought that I could fit in another easy 5, effectively splitting a long run over 2 days or, to put it another way, getting the mileage in. It was very cold and I again put on 2 pairs of leggings, a short sleeve top, a long sleeved top, jacket, high-viz vest and gloves. The only thing I did  differently was wear a hat as I read some advice about preventing hypothermia whilst running in this cold weather. It seems a hat is important, as are gloves. The other thing is to try and stay dry – jump over puddles and wear waterproof clothes. If it is very cold head to forests etc where it is sheltered. The other things are to layer up and to run into the head wind on your way out (if there is one). Dressed up like Michelin man I was warm enough and enjoyed a 6 mile run.

Saturday

Tired this morning. I went for a walk and felt really tired. I kept thinking: “This time last week I was running 9 miles!” There was no way today…. but I had given my legs a bit of a hammering over the last 2 days. This afternoon was a gym session. I am loving these so much. This week I did 4 sets of 5 pull ups 🙂 I also tried a new exercise called dumb bell snatches:

I promise you, easier than it looks. I dread new exercises as my brain takes a while to process the new info and I usually look like a real fool! Luckily, I didn’t have that many problems with this one. YAY! I did 4 sets of 4 each arm, and on the last set even moved up a weight to 15 kgs).

We then moved onto single leg squats (I do this one without a weight, 3 sets of 6 on each leg). My PT said today that with this exercise he has nothing to say anymore. How good does that feel?

The leg squat is paired with bar bell lifts (3 sets of 6, weight 30 kgs)

I then do a set of three exercises, arabesques, press ups (3 sets of 8), and seated rows (3 sets of 12) The final set of exercises were based on the core: roll outs, Russian twists and dead bugs.

Enough for anyone! I am really pleased with how strong I am getting. I am not noticing visible differences in my body but with these exercises I am definitely Way, Way, Way stronger than this time last year. That is a really good feeling whether it helps my running or not.

Tomorrow will be a very cold cross country run (if it doesn’t get cancelled!)

 

 

 

One thought on “I won

I love to hear your thoughts and views.

