Adventures and Views

So, after the busy week it was time for a quiet weekend, right? No. Friday was incredibly quiet as I was on a course and spent the day on my bottom which is very unusual. The venue was somewhere new and so I left plenty of time to get there.  In the end I arrived early and had time to enjoy a nice mug of tea. As I was was sitting there it suddenly dawned on me that I never do this!  (Sit around drinking tea that is). As a consequence my steps went down to barely 1000 all day! This was nothing like the rest of the weekend.

New Adventures

In our house Saturdays are football days. Today we had just one match to fit in which I volunteered to do (I like home games as I know where I am going!). When I got home I was inspired to try out a new feature on my Garmin. When I say new I mean new to me as the watch has always had this capacity but I have never used it…. I sat on the computer and marked out a lovely 9 mile route that mainly stayed on trails. I then uploaded it onto my watch so that I could follow it whilst out. Clever eh?

Mud, Mud glorious mud!

My eldest fancied coming with me on his bike and so we set off. Me in my lovely trail shoes and him on his bike. We were going along really well, mainly on roads until we came across our first trail and mud…..

2016-01-23 14.04.42

 

This was mud that stuck to your trainers, bike and anything else like glue. I literally had to pull the bike along. Luckily it was only a short way so we just about managed. It did mean that each foot had an extra 5 kg’s or so on them.

We soon hit easier terrain and started to make good progress. We found new paths that we didn’t know existed that felt as if we were in the middle of no-where. We saw 1 person. All was going really well until the path that I wanted had a sign saying private. RATs. We had two options: break the law and trespass or carry on along the way we were going. Being the responsible mother that I am we chose the latter option. Unfortunately this meant that we got lost! We came out onto a road that we had no idea even existed.

Luckily we made a good choice as to the direction we took (50/50) and ended up in a village we knew! phew. After about 2 miles we managed to re-join the planned route and finally made our way home. Due to the extra 2 mile detour I did cut a bit off the end….my legs had just had it for the day but I still did the distance that I had set out to do.

Sunday

Cross training at the gym. More pull ups, single legged squats and press ups. Quite a lot of upper body strength work today so I expect to feel it tomorrow! Oh, I nearly forgot. We also did a gentle family bike ride ……6 miles in total but I have found a whole new load of trails to explore. (Anyone spot a theme going on here?)

Monday

In an attempt to prevent the Tuesday blues that I have been suffering from for the last few weeks, I decided to take the risky option and bike to work today. It was risky because I leave work with just about half an hour to get to school pick up. The bike ride takes 20 minutes. A bit tight for my liking but I am always up for a challenge 😉

This morning was another warm morning with the most beautiful moon:

2016-01-25 07.41.37

Yes that is the moon and not the sun.

On the return journey I literally flew home. The wind was behind me and I managed an average of 12.3. mph! For me that is amazing. The home run is always a bit quicker as there is one huge hill as opposed to a long slow uphill drag, but 12.3 is flying. I normally average about 10.9!! My legs felt fine which is amazing the amount of miles they have put in this week. I must remember to stretch tonight else I fear they will not last the week.

See you soon. 🙂

 

6 thoughts on “Adventures and Views

I love to hear your thoughts and views.

