A little bit of bragging

On Thursday it was an out and back session at the club. The key to this is all about pacing. You run for 20mins in one direction and then turn around and aim to get back to the start in under 20 minutes i.e. faster than when you went out. It is really clever as the fast people get further and then have to run further back. In principle this means that there isn’t much over taking, always good for the confidence.

It worked. We set out at a nice steady pace and I was pleasantly surprised by how far we covered in the 20 minutes. I felt good and so began to speed up on the return journey. I hope that you don’t think that I am bragging if I tell you that I got back 2 whole minutes faster than I went out. I was so pleased. Yes, some would say that I set out too slowly but when I looked at my stats I got faster with each mile that passed:

9.07

9.04

8.40

8.34

(all in minute miles). Really happy with that.

 

Friday

Friday was indeed as windy as they had warned so I was really pleased that I hadn’t left the biking to do. It was really quite blustery (although nowhere near as bad as other places) but enough to really think that running my planned 10 miles was a bit mad. I attempted to get out of it by sending  a couple of texts to my comrade but to no avail. She simply replied in a joking way. I asked another friend to help motivate me and her response was don’t do it. That had the desired effect. Off I went.

It wasn’t easy at all and there were 2 miles at the beginning that were really tough going, a long uphill stretch that was straight into a head wind, strong enough to make us feel as if we were standing still. We eventually made it and were delighted to see that we had managed to move faster than we imagined. Our legs really felt it however.

 

Once we had finished it felt really good to have done our long run before tea on a Friday. The bonus being that we had run 10 miles at an average pace of 9.48. Really pleased with that too. I think the term is smug pants all the way. 🙂

I slept very, very well last night (nearly 11 hours!) and have a lovely relaxing day with no running or biking. Just a bit of walking. Gym tomorrow.

Have a lovely weekend one and all.

4 thoughts on “A little bit of bragging

I love to hear your thoughts and views.

