A PB!

After my run on Friday night I took Saturday off completely – I actually slept in until 9am! I think my body needed a rest!

 

 

Sunday I went to the gym which was very enjoyable. It is really more of the same although I am now moving more towards dynamic and explosive moves rather than simply lifting weights. All good for my running apparently.

Monday was another rest day – aren’t I being a good girl? Tuesday was running club – a 5k handicap. This involves the slowest people setting off first and then everyone else at set intervals behind them. My time for a 5k tends to be about 27minutes so this is where I slotted in. In actual fact I got a PB of 25.57 minutes, a shade under 26 minutes. I am REALLY pleased with this. (I also came 4th overall and wasn’t overtaken by anyone). I doubt this will ever be repeated as I expect that I wasn’t actually in the correct group (dare I mention cheating? Unintentional and perfectly innocent though it was.)

I felt really good. I set out at a steady pace and then when another girl started speeding up I followed her as I knew that her pace was a bit quicker than mine. This made it a good pace to aim for.  She did pull away a bit but she was always in my sights.

On waking up today I made a classic mistake. I assessed the weather from the window. It looked calm and still (no tree branches were moving). It had been quite warm yesterday and so decided to bike. It is probably my only chance this week and I was taking a running club before work so was going in my training clothes. It didn’t take me long to realise that looks can be deceiving. There was an evil wind that was heading straight for me all the way. It was also icy, straight from the North pole. Then, to add insult to injury, it decided to start ‘snowing’. I had made the silly decision not to wear my waterproof trousers and so had visions of me getting soaking wet and then having to spend the whole morning in wet clothes. Not a nice thought! Luckily the ‘snow’ didn’t last very long at all.

I did feel good once I was all warm again but the idea of going back outside to get home wasn’t something that I was looking forward to. Luckily the sun had come out by the time I was ready and it was a far more enjoyable ride home although still a bit cold. I am pleased that I did it but still think that I was mad!

Tomorrow is another mad event – a head torch run along an unlit track. Sounds fun but also as if I am asking for an injury. There is an alternative route but where is the adventure in that? (Maybe I will have my sensible hat on tomorrow and will not want to risk injury…..?)

2 thoughts on “A PB!

I love to hear your thoughts and views.

