Fatigue begins to set in

You may have realised by the lack of posts last week that I am beginning to get a bit tired, and unable to cope with anything extra. It seems that I am not alone as other blogs that I follow that are also in training for a marathon have gone suspiciously quiet as well. We have reached the point in training where the miles are ever-increasing each week which obviously takes its toll on our bodies and energy levels.

Club Night

I was a bit sore after the PB on Sunday. I could feel the muscle in my calf on Monday and Tuesday morning so was unsure whether to go to running club or not. As it turns out, during the day it loosened off and so I decided to go but take it easy. Hmmm. I started out ok at 9 and half-minute miles but it was an out and back session so ended up at 8.43. I am just too competitive. At least it was only 4 miles! Unfortunately a bit of drama occurred as the person whom I had run with fainted during the stretches. Luckily she was ok and there were a lot of people who knew what to do but maybe a timely reminder to take things easy occasionally?

Physio

Wednesday I woke up thinking that I would drive to work but the sun was shining and so I thought that I would take the opportunity to bike to work. I literally flew along which was an awesome feeling. On the way home I realised why –  the wind had switched direction. Biking home was sooo harder than normal.

I had an appointment with the physio this afternoon who said that I had a bit of a knot in my calf that should not cause too many problems as long as I stretched and rolled it. He suggested that I took it easy at club night. You know how well I do with that!!!!!!!


Thursday Club Night

You may well be surprised but I did take it easy. I dropped down a group and managed a nice easy run of 6.5 miles at an average pace of 10.34. Best of all my calf felt Ok :). I took Friday as a rest day.

The long Slow Run

I did everything I could to find someone to run my long run with, without success. 😦 So after lunch on Saturday I set off for a 16 mile run on my own. I was dreading it. Mainly because I remember just how awful I felt during my 15 mile run last year – as if it was yesterday. I decided to set off nice and slowly and see how I went. My mental strategy was to run 6 miles, then add 2 miles to get half way, then another 2 to ten. This leaves just 6. It worked. I ran to a point where I would be returning to, stashed a water bottle and then picked it up on the way back. I even finished strong although I am not sure how I am going to manage another 10!

REST!

I wanted to run on Saturday to give myself 2 clear rest days to recover. In fact I got up and went to the gym for a strength training session….but then I had a quiet day. I even had a nap after lunch (but due to a child being poorly I had a disturbed nights sleep). Tomorrow will be another rest day. My body needs it.

 

 

3 thoughts on “Fatigue begins to set in

I love to hear your thoughts and views.

