Another long run.

I did go to club last night. I didn’t want to as I was more than happy to sit on the sofa for the night but just about managed to muster up the energy.  It was Yasso’s. This is where you run 800 metres, have a 2 minute rest and then repeat. The idea is that you run each one at the same pace. We managed 6 in total that totalled 3.36 miles. I took it a bit easy as I had planned a long run for Friday. Another run completed.

Today was a glorious day and I set out for my first run of the year in just a short-sleeved t-shirt.

A glorious day.

A glorious day.

I was running with someone who has never run before and is now training for London. He is completely inspiring. I knew it would be a bit slower than I normal run but thought this would be a good thing.

As I was running with someone else I had not really thought about the run and was not very nervous (unlike last week!). The first 5 miles passed nicely as we chatted away. I was a bit disheartened when I realised that we had only run 5 miles as it felt like we had been going for a while but it was a nice easy pace so I didn’t stress too much. I had planned a route that was mostly on a cycle route so it was nice, quiet and rural.  We passed a lot of families out and about as it was a glorious afternoon.

2016-03-25 14.35.56

As we approached half way my legs began to feel a bit stiff but I was not worried, yet. I put it down to running a bit slower than normal. I found that when I pushed off a bit more the stiffness went a bit.

My running partner did begin to suffer with his knees in the last few miles. I managed to keep him going until about 15 miles which was the furthest that he had ever run. It is unfortunate that we were running through a village where his Mum lived as I think it was just too tempting to ask for a lift back. I carried on and completed the 17 miles. I have absolutely no idea where the rest of the miles will come from as I was completely finished.

Hey-ho. 17 miles completed today. 3.36 miles yesterday. That is over 20 miles over 2 days. Happy with that. Today’s run lasted 3 hours and 11 minutes which is all good preparation for the marathon. Only another hour and a bit to go on marathon day 😮

 

6 thoughts on “Another long run.

I love to hear your thoughts and views.

