My Handmade Wardrobe

Spring has begun to spring here in the UK and I have very much had spring cleaning fever (by that I mean clearing out all the junk that none of us needs). It started off as quite fun but I am now at the point where I have had enough and the house still does not quite look like I would like it to. Hey HO, I shall persevere.

With As part of my Spring clean I decided to tackle my clothes. To be honest I am a bit fed up with my clothes. I don’t know whether it is an age thing or I have not updated recently but I just don’t feel excited by many of my outfits now. Sorting through them I did notice that I have a lot of greeny/browny coloured clothes. I always thought that I was quite a colourful person but it seems not. This is something that I will have to consciously address over the next few months.

I did sort out quite a few things to get rid of (including some smelly running tops that my husband will be so pleased to see the back of). As May is rapidly approaching along with the challenge started by Zoe called me-made-May  where you pledge to wear your handmade and upcycled clothes as much as you  declare, I decided to take photos of the things that  I have made so that I can truly see what clothes I have ready for the May challenge. (Last year I thought that I would have made loads by now…..)

IMG_1565

This was my first ever knitted item that I made when I was a teenager. It is incredibly warm and only worn when I want a bit of comfort.

IMG_1563

This poncho was the first item I made on my return to knitting.

IMG_1564

This Angel wings ‘Bolero’ is a favourite of mine. Nice and warm but not too bulky.

IMG_1562

This falling leaves jumper looks amazing on.

IMG_1559

This is a wrap dress that is the first item of clothing I made from cloth as an adult.

IMG_1560

My first pair of trousers.

IMG_1566

A jersey top.

I also have 2 pairs of socks, a scarf and three shawls. I wear the shawls the most.

At the end of last year I thought that I would manage to make 1 item of clothing a month. I have failed on this target so far although I have a cardigan that is nearly finished (buttons and ends) and another one well on its way. I also have the pieces cut out for another jersey top so if I get my skates on, I am not that far off my target after all……I have just not finished one a month.

 

 

5 thoughts on “My Handmade Wardrobe

  1. Aaron

    I always aim to high when it comes to completing projects so don’t feel to bad about that. I have stuff that I’ve been making for years. Every year I start a rennasaince costume, and every year I decide it’s ugly and start over, this is the first time I’m actually almost done and I’m perfectly happy.

    Reply

I love to hear your thoughts and views.

