And so it begins….

My Aims

I met with a personal trainer last week. He asked me what my aims were. That was a simple question:

To get through the marathon training without getting injured.

Ever since I got my first ballot place in the marathon 3 years ago I decided that I needed professional advice when it came to training for a marathon. My initial fear was the dreaded runners knee. I knew from reading various magazines that running doesn’t use all your muscles on your legs and imbalances can create all sorts of issues. The PT that I had used previously had moved onto other exciting adventures hence the new one. After a bit more chat (actually after the session) I also added that I would like to better my personnal best time for a marathon. I am delighted to say that he has taken up the challenge. Apparently he likes a challenge as much as I do!

Plans

Very quickly (as in the next day) my plans were sent through. I have a strength programme to do once a week  and ….get this……a running plan. (I have never had one of these before.) No longer am I following a generic plan. I now have a bespoke plan written just for me. I am so excited, especially as it looks completely doable (so far!).

I have three weekly runs

– a tempo (which is miles in length rather that metres – gulp!) which is meant to be a relatively fast paced run.

-an interval run which is even faster than a tempo run but is over a shorter distance with short recovery breaks.

-a long run (starting at 7 miles!)

In addition to this I have a day for stretching and a day in the gym. The other 2 days can be rest days or active recovery of swimming or biking.

Considering I currently run on 4 days and try to fit in a gym session as well as biking this seems perfectly doable and a good fit for my busy life. It also gives me a specific day for my stretches which I really need to do more of. My body is not getting any younger and I need to look after it. I will focus on three quality runs a week, do my stretching and see how it goes.

Ahead of myself?

The plan starts from tomorrow. Most plans for the London marathon do not start until January so I am more than happy to start now. I run anyway so working harder than I would have but on fewer days seems to me to be a good way to get going. I am slightly worried about the accountability. Someone will be ‘watching’ my progress of my runs and I will not be able to make my usual excuses as easily. This is no doubt a good thing.

My first run will be Tuesday as I have completed a relatively tough cross-country course today (sand, ugh I hate sand).Tomorrow will be a rest day and then I have a tempo run. Please send me good luck vibes – I shall need them.

 

 

 

3 thoughts on “And so it begins….

I love to hear your thoughts and views.

