Comfortably Hard

My plan says 3 miles at tempo pace for today. Not my favourite as it means working hard and running just out of my comfort zone or “comfortably hard”. As far as I am concerned those two words do not belong together at all. To top it all off the weather was foggy.

Luckily for me I realised that the club run tonight was a 5k timed run. Perfect. I knew that I would try harder and keep going for longer at a harder pace with other people around than on my own so I opted for this option.

The timed runs at club are sort of handicapped with the slower runners setting off first and the fastest last. There were 4 in my group. When we set off I quickly went to the front but then immediately realised that this was maybe not the best idea as setting off too fast ends in tears. I slowed down a bit. After a bit one man went off. I tried to keep with him and did quite well.

Each mile seemed to go on forever, so long that I began to wonder if my watch had gone wrong and wasn’t going to buzz at each mile. But it did….it just took it’s time. About half way I began to catch the group in front of me which really spurred me on (it is nice to have someone to aim for). I was then promptly over taken myself!

During the last mile I really began to struggle. I kept trying to relax and forget how far I had to go. Luckily the final stretch is downhill which was just as well as I was very reliant on gravity at this point. I had a lot of people over taking here and was literally hanging on for dear life.

I came 18th out of 40 something runners which I was pleased with and the time on my watch showed 26.31 for the 5k. This is really close to my personal best which I achieved in the summer. I also didn’t slow down that much however I felt: mile 1 was 8.27, mile 2 was 8.29 and mile 3: 8.42. Not bad splits at all. My heart rate is another story however – it got up to 172 which for me is extremely high. Even the average of 160 is higher than normal (my easy run on Friday had an average of 139!) I was definitely working hard.

I hope this is true!

Yes it hurt but I feel really pleased for doing it. That is the thing with running – once it is over you feel glad you have done it. I could so easily have found an excuse to stop. No pain no gain!

 

7 thoughts on “Comfortably Hard

  1. DrJuliet

    Great work! It’s so hard to make yourself run on the edge of comfortable all on your own isn’t it?! Running with others is definitely the answer. Well done!

    Reply
  2. macstabby

    I feel the same way about being glad after you go for a run even if it feels interminable – I just joined a local running club and I almost threw up last week trying to keep up. Slowed it way down this week and felt better (even though it was 23F with 40 mph wide gusts ugh). I don’t think a tempo run would go well for me. I down like to be uncomfortable.

    Reply
  3. jodiebodie

    Well done! I love your “challenge and change” quote. Would you mind if I copied it into my comfort journal? There is a lot of truth in that one. It’s fantastic that you ran close to your personal best and it is interesting to read about your thoughts as your were running to learn how you kept yourself going. I admire anyone who can do that. Cheers!

    Reply

I love to hear your thoughts and views.

