Am I good enough?

I have had to take some time off work this week due to my son being poorly. Luckily the person that covered for me was someone I knew fairly well. I say luckily because I hate having time off work so leaving it with someone I trusted was a huge help.

This post was inspired by what she said to me after the day was finished. Yes it  was all very complimentary (she is a friend!) but what struck me was all I notice are the things that are wrong and that I haven’t done. I don’t ever step back and think about what I have done well. I actually ended the day feeling quite positive and that I can actually do my job ok. This was a bit of a revelation to me. Yes there are things I can do to improve but some of what I do is done quite well.

Before you ask, I do enjoy my job….a lot,  but I rarely feel that I am doing some of it quite well. This is because I spend my time focussing on all the things that I know need to be done better. My bet is that you are the same. I knew that this was definitely the case when it comes to exercise and running, being a parent etc but with work I had never really thought about it. I just kept my head down and kept working.

So in the future this is going to be my motto:

Image result for you are doing a good job quoteI will continue to improve, that is a non negotiable but I am going to try to recognise the bits that I get right.

What about you? Are you good at recognising your strengths?

4 thoughts on “Am I good enough?

  1. Aaron

    Even if things seem like they’re going wrong- they usually work out in the end anyways. I just say it hasn’t worked out “yet” or say to yourself that things are always going well for you,

    Reply
  2. KerryCan

    I think this is a delicate balance–acknowledging all you do well, and still striving to improve. But, yes, you must absolutely pat yourself on the back for the things you get right! Encourage yourself the way you would your best friend!

    Reply
  3. Pingback: Daily Greatness | knitnrun4sanity

I love to hear your thoughts and views.

