Uh Oh!

Up until now training has been going really well. I am noticing a huge difference in my twice weekly gym work and am really enjoying it (which for me is huge – I tend to get really bored, really easily.)

Today I went on a solo 10 mile trail run in the rain:

dsc_0335

 

I passed 2 people within the first mile and then no-one for the next 9! Perfect me time. When I got home I was freezing. I had a shower but couldn’t get warm. Luckily a lovely meal in a pub soon did the trick.

You may have noticed that I started this post saying that training has been going well. Notice the ‘up until now’ phrase? I shouldn’t have run today. When I got up the ball area of my foot hurt when I walked on it. This is not that unusual for me so I didn’t think much of it. (I have expanding ligaments in my feet.) When I started running it was a bit sore and I contemplated turning back but I had 2 days off running, it didn’t hurt yesterday and I could think of no reason why it would hurt, also the pain wasn’t too bad. 10 miles later and I am hobbling.  Uh oh. I should have rested. I will now be resting this week and finding cross training to do in its place. Guttted.

On the other hand I have found a ‘new’ challenge for yoga:

It is a 31 day course with Adriene and you can sign up here. I did the first one yesterday. The thirty minutes went so quickly. It was fairly gentle (apart from some of the stomach ones) but it is meant to be restorative. I have signed up and will keep you posted.

PS: I have managed to do yoga everyday for a over a week!

 

3 thoughts on “Uh Oh!

  1. KerryCan

    I think the yoga will be a perfect balance for the other exercising you’re doing. I do some yoga and stretching pretty much every day and I hope I stick with it forever.

    Reply
    1. knitnrun4sanity Post author

      Loving it so far….just trying to encourage myself to get up now. I have done it everyday this year so far. Cannot say it is getting easier but I am sure it is beneficial. X

      Reply

I love to hear your thoughts and views.

