Willingham to Impington

Oh dear. Time seems to be flying along and I am not keeping up with these posts. I am so sorry. On the 11.3.17 I had the enormous task of running 18 miles. If last weeks run had been on home territory this week came a close second as I actually lived in these parts for several years. At that time however, I would never have contemplated running 18 miles!

IMG_6336

This is Willingham.

 

I then ran along the road through the village that I used to live in, Cottenham and on to Waterbeach. If you look at a map it would be a lot easier to run straight to Milton which is where I would be going next and I was very tempted…..but being a good girl I stuck with the plan and ran to Waterbeach.

IMG_6363Look at that amazing blossom. You cannot tell from this photograph but the person taking this was taking his life into his own hands and actually standing on the road! I was glad that I didn’t miss this out, everyone was sp encouraging.

Another reason for not taking a short cut was because the next bit of the route took me along the river Cam, something that I had always wanted to do but had never had the opportunity. Unfortunately I didn’t stop to take photographs but I realised that I don’t tend to go to the river at this time of the year and therefore miss the daffodils along the banks and brilliant green on the weeping willow trees as they start to come into bud.

IMG_6370The next stop was Milton, a church that is really tucked away and I was very pleased for my planned route on my watch. That, along with the tall spires are really helpful! Just a short bit left until the last stop (and lunch) at Impington. Unfortunately I had to add another mile on which is absolute torture for a runner. Reaching your destination to find that you have to add-on more completely messes with your brain. I did it though!

IMG_6375I look a bit more tired in this one, also a bit wetter! Hey ho, I quick change of clothes and I was ready for my lunch. A great ending to a lovely day. A few more miles ticked off. 🙂

 

3 thoughts on “Willingham to Impington

I love to hear your thoughts and views.

