Twin beads

My jewellery making has taken a bit of a back seat recently. I am hoping that this is all about to change. Last months challenge over at Spoilt Rotten beads involved the use of twin beads. These are beads that have 2 holes in them. This obviously opens a lot more options. The first piece I made was this bracelet:

Twin bangelI really like the construction of this bangle style bracelet. It look complicated but was relatively easy to do. You just had to find a rhythm.

The next piece I made took me nearly the whole month. It was made in sections:

These are then join together to make the item of jewellery.

These are then join together to make the item of jewellery.

What I really like about this design is the 3D nature of it. It was fairly fiddly at times but I am pleased with the finished bracelet.

I made a bracelet.

I made a bracelet.

3d twin braceletI think that it was worth the effort.

Once I had finished this I went into slight overdrive!

I think this looks very Egyptian.

I think this looks very Egyptian.

Although I made it as a bracelet I think it would look really lovely as a necklace. It is not at all hard and works up quite quickly.

egyptian BraceletYou may well notice that I have yet to add a clasp. I am waiting to go shopping to find the perfect one!

Finally, I have a WIP.

 

This is slightly more fiddly....

This is slightly more fiddly….

I am not sure on my colour choice but we shall see….I need to work on finding the correct technique!

Still one and a bit in one day beats a whole month!

19 thoughts on “Twin beads

  1. macstabby

    Those are great! I like the 3D-ish one and the Egyptian ones the best. So awesome! I do not have the patience for jewelry-making. I’ve tried it and I just stink at it haha.

    Reply
  2. youngatfifty

    Awesome work ! Keep them coming.
    I tried beading and still do have a lot of tiny wooden beads, but realised I needed to buy proper beading needles so just abandoned the beading enterprise πŸ˜‰ someday I might have to go back to it atleast to use up my beads πŸ™‚

    Reply
  3. Nice piece of work

    wow, you really are getting good at this! Love the bracelet, it’s one of the nicest I’ve ever seen.
    Both bracelets, actually. I tried one on yesterday very similar to your top one, but it wasn’t half as well-made. You’re definitely onto something here…. πŸ™‚

    Reply
  4. Gertie

    So glad you’re back with your jewellery as I was beginning to think you’d given it up. Lots of beautiful pieces. It’s hard to choose a favourite but I think the ‘Egyptian’ bracelet just has the edge as I love the colours xx

    Reply
  5. Pingback: Christmas Earrings | knitnrun4sanity

I love to hear your thoughts and views.

